Why and How to Participate

Why Participate?

Flash Fiction contests are a great way to refine your skill. The challenge is to write a complete story within a set number of words. These weekly writing prompts are the perfect exercise to becoming a better writer!

Many writers use these contests as a way to get the creative juices flowing, or to come up with new story lines for future projects. Others use them as exercises that help them become a better writer overall based on feedback from other participants as well as providing it.

Tips:

How to Participate:

  • Each Thursday a new theme and story requirements will be posted on this website.
  • Navigate to that week’s post and paste your story in the comment field.
  • If you wish to participate in the discussion portion of this contest you will need to join the Writers Hangout Group on LinkedIn and find the correlating thread. Discussion/comments posted on this website will be deleted. The posts here are only for complete stories.
  • You may revise and re-post your story twice. Send an email to LIFlashFiction(at)gmail(dot)com with your revised story and we will update your comment. Alternatively you can repost and let us know to delete the previous comment.
  • On the Wednesday after, comments are closed and voting begins at 9:00am PDT / 12:00pm EST / 10:30pm IST / 5:00pm WET/GMT/ 4:00am AEDT (Thursday) and ends the same time on Thursday / 4:00am AEDT (Friday), and winners will be announced later that day.
  • A link will be provided to the page with a submission form that you can vote for your top five (5) stories. The votes will be tallied and the winning story will be posted on this website along with the 2nd, 3rd, 4th, etc place details. NOTE: you must submit five votes for any of your votes to count.
  • You MUST submit your top five (5) votes for your story to count.
  • You must also submit votes for
    • Story with your favorite character.
    • Story with the best use of dialogue.
    • Story with the best pacing.
  • Votes are assigned points in relation to how you place them. Your 1st place choice will receive 5 points. Your 2nd place choice will receive 4 points. Your 3rd place choice will receive 3 points. Your 4th place choice will receive 2 points. Your 5th place choice will receive 1 point.
    Whomever has the most points overall wins.
  • Signing up for email notifications for this blog will ensure you are notified when the voting period starts, what the next theme is, and who the winners are.
  • It should be noted a potential publisher may consider your comment submission as “previously published”. Please read this article for further consideration.


click tracking

%d bloggers like this: